psu
Small-Logo

Sponsored in Part by The University Park Allocations Committee

The Penn State Model Railroad Club was founded by Glen Van Winkle and received official recognition as a Penn State Club on March 23rd, 1955 . The club boasts numerous members from all different ages and backgrounds and proudly celebrated its 60th Anniversary on April 23rd, 2015, 60 years to the day of when construction began for our first layout.

The club is home to experienced and novice modelers alike.

Meetings

In addition to business meetings, the club holds operating sessions, work sessions and skill sessions throughout the semester:

Work Sessions Wednesdays 6:30 PM
Run Sessions Fridays 6:30 PM
Business Meetings 1st Wednesday of the Month 7:30 PM

Also, the club has an Open House twice each semester. The club purchases models with which to teach modeling skills to those less experienced. (Have a question? Ask!)

Library

The Club has a sizeable collection of magazines, with two titles dating back to 1937. In addition, the club owns a library of books and videos, and many volumes of club history. 

Rolling Stock

Rolling stock stretches from steam-era heavyweights to modern double-stack wells.

Roster

Roster Notes

Layouts

We are currently working on our fifth layout. For those that are not into HO, we have a 4' x 8' Z-Scale Layout and a 3' x 5' N-Scale Layout.

Structures

The club also owns dozens of structures, some based on the local area. Some members are even trying to construct some university landmarks, such as the power plant on the corner of Burrowes and College, Old Main, and the old Bellefonte Central depot that used to be located where Hammond Building is now.

Facebook